Don’t Drink and Drive After the Big Game!
The Super Bowl is this Sunday. That means eating lots of good (unhealthy) food, spending time with friends and family, and most likely drinking a few alcoholic beverages. Let’s focus on the latter. Super Bowl Sunday is one the biggest drinking days of the year besides the day before Thanksgiving and Independence Day.
Incidents of drinking under the influence (DUI) spike and law enforcement is on the look for intoxicated drivers with checkpoints across the country. In fact, your chance of getting into an accident involving drinking doubles on Super Bowl Sunday compared to a normal Sunday in January or February.
Research shows that men between ages of 21 and 35 account for the highest percentage of drunk drivers. Oddly enough, that is the same demographic that accounts for most of the NFL’s viewership. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), 43 percent of all U.S. traffic fatalities on Super Bowl Sunday in 2012 were caused by drinking and driving. The national average is 31 percent.
After hearing these statistics, you should probably reconsider thinking about drinking and driving after the big game. And if you see someone who has been drinking, don’t let them drive; even if the team they are a fan of beat your team. Here are some safety tips to keep in mind:
- Designate a sober driver or consider using alternative transportation
- Don’t let your intoxicated friends or family members leave your sight if they are thinking about driving themselves
- Serve lots of food that can absorb and break down the consumption of alcohol
- Have non-alcoholic beverages on hand to keep it balanced
- Remember, you are ultimately responsible if someone you served ends up in a drunk driving incident
What Happens When You Get a DUI?
If law enforcement stops you and charges you with a DUI, you’ll be dealing with a frightful experience; especially if it’s your first time dealing with the criminal court system. Here are a few things to keep in mind for first-time offenders:
- The penalty for a DUI offense for a first-time offender is a fine between $250 and $500, license suspension from three months to a year, jail for up to 30 days, and the possibility of an ignition interlock device being placed on your car. You may also have to do community service. You will also be expected to pay several fees such as a Motor Vehicle Restoration Feel, an Intoxicated Driver Program fee, and state and municipality fees.
- New Jersey has an implied consent law. This means if you had refused to submit to a chemical test, you will be fined and your license would be suspended for seven months.
- You may have to participate in an Intoxicated Driver Resource program. And if you’re underage and don’t have a license, there may be a six-month delay in getting your license.
We aren’t telling you not to enjoy the Super Bowl this Sunday, but are simply saying don’t drink and drive. It’s not worth it regardless of how much you plan on celebrating.
If you are in need of an experienced attorney in New Jersey, make a call to the Law Offices of Anthony Carbone. We are here to fight for the rights of Garden State residents. Schedule your free consultation today.