When you are accused of assault in New Jersey, you can be facing serious consequences. Not only could you be facing jail time and stiff fines, but you may also lose your job, your children, and your life. It can be hard to recover from such accusations. You need legal help and fast.
At Jersey City law firm Law Offices of Anthony Carbone, we understand how difficult the situation is. You’re worried about your future and what will happen to both you and your family. This is why our Jersey City assault lawyer Anthony Carbone will do all he can to make sure you get a fair trial and your charges downgraded and, in some cases, dismissed entirely.
What is Simple Assault in NJ?
According to New Jersey law, simple assault is when a person does one of the following:
- Attempts to cause bodily injury to another either purposely, knowingly, or recklessly
- Causes bodily injury to another with the use of a weapon
- Attempts to physically menace to put another in fear of imminent bodily injury
Simple assault does not necessarily have to bring injury to the person or it was an intentional act.
So for example, you’re at a bar when you get into an argument with someone about your favorite sports team. You decide to let the matter go. However, the other party is not ready to give up the fight just yet. He threatens to physically harm you and goes as far as pretending to throw a punch, only stopping before contact. This is a simple assault.
In New Jersey, simple assault is a disorderly persons offense. You may face up to six months in prison and a $1,000 fine, plus additional penalties such as community service, court fees, and counseling sessions.
What is Aggravated Assault in NJ?
Unlike simple assault, aggravated assault charges are indictable offenses in New Jersey. Depending on the extent of the injury or the weapon that was used, the penalties depend on the degree of the crime.
A fourth-degree crime can be something simple, like pointing an unloaded gun at someone. The penalty for this crime is 18 months in prison, followed by fines and probation. If you brandish a weapon, chances are you will be charged with a third-degree crime. You could be facing three to five years in prison, plus fines.
Second degree aggravated assault is the most serious offense. You are usually charged with this crime when your actions have left the victim with a severe injury, such as a loss of a limb. You can also be charged with this crime if, for instance, you were fleeing the police and caused injury to another. The penalty is five to ten years in prison and fines.
How Our Jersey City Assault Lawyer Can Help
Jersey City assault lawyer Attorney Carbone is experienced with the criminal defense process in New Jersey. He will help you make the right move during your case to promote the best outcome based on your assault case.
Attorney Carbone understands New Jersey’s criminal law and can determine what steps to take. He might be able to plea down your charge or get a complete dismissal of charges. He may be able to find flaws in the investigation of the case and he will suggest defense strategies that are specific to your case.
If you are facing either simple assault or aggravated assault charges and are in need of a Jersey City criminal defense lawyer, contact the Law Offices of Anthony Carbone immediately to schedule an initial consultation about your case. Now serving clients in Hudson, Essex, Passaic, Union Counties, and throughout New Jersey. Call us at 201-829-3829.