What Happens if You’re Caught Driving Without License?
Posted November 30th, 2018 by Anthony Carbone, PC.
Categories: Criminal Defense.
You need to pick up a few things from the store. You hop into your car and begin driving to the store. It’s then that you realize you left your wallet at home. You make an illegal U-turn and speed home, only to see flashing lights behind you. Oh no, you don’t have your license! What’s going to happen?
- That sounds like an honest mistake, right? It can happen to the best of us. But what you might not know is the consequences you’re about to face.
Driving Without a License in New Jersey: What You Should Know
You may think driving without a license will result in a simple fine or a stern warning. And the truth of the matter is, it all depends on the circumstances of the crime. You need to remember that New Jersey considers driving a “privilege,” not a right, which is why the punishment is on the harsh side.
For the scenario above, you may receive no punishment or face a small fine with 2 points off your license if you’re able to prove you have a valid license at the time of the incident. But what if you’ve never had a license? What could you be facing then?
If you never had a license or your license had expired at the time of the incident, the punishment is a little more severe. You will receive a fine between $250 and $500 and are unable to apply for a license for up to six months.
- The final scenario is the most severe of them all. If your license has been revoked or is under suspension, this is considered a disorderly person offense.
- You could be paying a fine between $1,200 and $2,000 and face a maximum sentence of a year in jail.
Penalties for Commercial Drivers Without a License
Commercial drivers, such as truckers or delivery truck drivers, must have a special commercial driver’s license (CDL) to drive their vehicles in New Jersey. The driver must have specialized knowledge and abilities to operate a commercial motor vehicle. And as you can imagine, the penalties for driving without a license can be stiff.
If you had just forgotten or never got your license, then you would be disqualified from driving from 60 to 120 days, depending on the number of violations you have. However, if your license is revoked or suspended, that can be more severe. If it’s your first violation, you could lose your license for up to one year. But if it’s your second violation, then you may be facing a lifelong ban. That means you would lose a job on top of losing your license!
The Law Offices of Anthony Carbone Can Help!
If you are facing charges for driving without a license in Jersey City, it’s best to speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney to guide you through the process. For 30 years, Attorney Anthony Carbone has helped clients throughout New Jersey with their criminal charges. Don’t face these charges alone! Contact the Law Offices of Anthony Carbone today for a free consultation.
CALL NOW: 201-829-3805