In the state of New Jersey, even a first time DUI conviction can come with heavy consequences. The only way to avoid stiff penalties and fines is through aggressive representation form an experienced DUI attorney. New Jersey DUI lawyer Anthony Carbone knows exactly what needs to be done in these cases to ensure your rights are protected and your best interests served.
Mandatory Fines and Penalties
In New Jersey, a DUI conviction has mandatory penalties. The only way to avoid these penalties is by having your case dismissed.
A first DUI conviction may come with:
- License loss – three months to one year
- Prison time – up to 30 days
- Community service – 12 to 48 hours
- $250 – $400 fine
- $230 Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) fee
- $100 to drunk driving fund
- $100 to Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund (AERF)
- $1,000 surcharge per year for three years
- $75 to Neighborhood Services Fund
If your BAC was over 0.15%, an ignition interlock device will be installed in your car for at least six months following license reinstatement.
A second DUI conviction within a ten year period may result in:
- License loss – two years
- Prison time –48 hours to 90 days
- Community service – 30 days
- IDRC – 12 to 48 hours
- Ignition lock – up to three years following license reinstatement
- Fines – $500 – $1,000 and $280 IDRC fee. All other fines are the same as with previous convictions
A third DUI conviction within a ten year period will result in the same IDRC and ignition lock penalties as a second conviction in addition to:
- License loss – ten years
- Prison time – 180 days
- Community service – up to 90 days
- Fines – $1000 and $1500 surcharge per year for three years. All other fines are the same as with a second DUI conviction
If you live in the Jersey City or Newark areas of New Jersey and are facing a DUI conviction, please contact the Law Offices of Anthony Carbone to schedule an initial consultation today.