New Jersey takes criminal offenses very seriously, which means that the prosecution will do everything possible to get you convicted. If you attempt to defend yourself in court, you may find yourself facing hefty fines or many years in prison.
If you have been charged with a crime in North Bergen, Anthony Carbone, an experienced North Bergen Criminal Defense Attorney, can provide you with the aggressive defense you need for a positive outcome.
Disorderly Person Offenses in New Jersey
The Municipal Court System handles disorderly person offenses in New Jersey. Under New Jersey law, defendants are not entitled to a jury trial. They could also be charged with a petty or regular defense, depending on the severity of the disorderly person’s crime.
Examples of regular disorderly person charges in New Jersey:
- Criminal mischief leading to damages or loss of less than $200
- Property theft, resulting in damages or loss of less than $200
- Simple assault
- Shoplifting an item worth less than $200
- Possession of less than 50 grams of marijuana
The punishment for these offenses may vary from case to case, with a typical conviction holding punishments such as a $1,000 fine and 6 months of jail time.
You may also be required to pay court costs, perform community service, or go through probation. Some courts will even revoke your professional or driver’s licenses for up to 2 years.
Indictable Crimes in New Jersey
Indictable crimes in New Jersey are similar to felonies, unlike disorderly person offenses, which are considered misdemeanors. They carry more severe punishments, with every conviction holding a jail term of at least one year. That said, the severity of punishment will often vary depending on the degree of the crime. The degrees are as follows:
- First-degree crime like rape, manslaughter, or murder
- Second-degree crime, like burglary, sex offenses, and drug crimes
- Third-degree crime, such as arson and some robbery offenses
- Fourth-degree, such as stalking
Most white-collar crimes are classified as second-degree indictable crimes, with a typical punishment of up to 10 years in prison and a $15,000 fine.
Should You Hire a Defense Attorney?
Defending yourself in court, although allowed under New Jersey law, is not advisable. Getting a charge reduced or eliminate requires an in-depth understanding of the inner workings of the criminal court system. As such, your best chances for getting a favorable outcome for your case lie with hiring an experienced North Bergen Criminal Defense Attorney.
If you are undecided about hiring an attorney, you can always call attorney Carbone for an obligation-free consultation.
Talk to a North Bergen Criminal Defense Attorney
Anthony Carbone, an expert North Bergen Criminal Defense Attorney, has been defending the rights of criminal defendants in New Jersey for over 3 decades. He is familiar with the criminal court systems and has extensive experience applying various legal strategies to get your charges reduced or eliminated.
With his 35 years of experience, attorney Carbone can guide you through the entire process of clearing your name and record. He will tell you when it is advisable to accept a plea bargain and when to pursue a trial. Contact him today at 201-829-3829 to schedule a consultation.