You can be responsible for a slip and fall accident
How about that snow this weekend? Dangerous, isn’t it? Slip and fall accidents are more common now that winter is right around the corner. In past blogs, we have discussed who may be responsible for the accident. But before pursuing a slip and fall case, there is some information you should know.
In New Jersey, you have two years to file a slip and fall accident claim. Remember it’s easier to file a claim with the insurance company as soon as possible after the accident. That way, if the case has to go to court, you will still fall under the statute of limitations.
In many slip and fall cases, the person injured can be found partly in fault. If this happens, New Jersey will use a “modified comparative fault” rule as a way to reduce or eliminate damages in the case. For example, you are at the grocery store. You aren’t looking where you are going and you slip on a puddle of water. The insurance company has decided that you are partial responsible for the accident, about 5 percent. Because of this, you will not receive the total amount awarded to you for your damages. So if you are awarded $10,000 for the accident, you will only receive $9,500.
We’ve been handling slip and fall cases for more than 25 years and we know all the tricks the insurance company plays. For more information on slip and fall accidents, click here. And don’t forget to contact us when you have been injured in a slip and fall accident.