When you are charged with a crime, a lot more than your criminal record hangs in the balance. A conviction could bring hefty fines, license revocation, or even jail time. This is before factoring in the aftermath of a criminal record on your loved ones, both emotionally and socially.
If you are facing criminal charges in West New York, Anthony Carbone, an experienced West New York Criminal Defense Attorney can help you fight your charges.
Criminal Offenses in New Jersey
New Jersey classifies criminal offenses through a system not used by many other states. Offenses are categorized into two distinct classes, with the main difference being the level of punishment allotted for each. The categories are as follows:
- Disorderly person offenses – Similar to misdemeanors and have less severe punishments.
- Indictable crimes – Similar to felonies, and hold severe punishments of at least 1 year of jail time
There are four degrees of severity for every criminal offense in New Jersey. For example, a fourth-degree charge for petty theft may lead to a light fine. A first-degree indictable offense like murder, on the other hand, could result in many years of prison, up to life imprisonment.
Domestic Violence Charges in New Jersey
Most people don’t know that, in New Jersey, domestic violence charges are heard and tried through the family court system instead of criminal court. If you hire an attorney who is unfamiliar with the workings of the family court, you could easily end up losing. A conviction can have far-reaching consequences on your personal and family life, including your ability to see your children.
Attorney Carbone is an experienced West New York Criminal Defense Attorney who has been working in New Jersey family law for many years. He is equipped with the legal knowledge and experience you need to win your case.
DUI/DWI Charges in New Jersey
You may be charged with drunk driving if you are found to be operating a motor vehicle or boat with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent or higher. A first DWI offense could lead to severe punishments, such as:
- Jail time of up to 30 days
- Hefty fines and legal fees
- Increased insurance rates
- Driver’s license suspension
- Up to 5 points on your license
- Installation of ignition interlock on your vehicle
It is important to note that New Jersey does not allow plea bargains for DWI charges. If your case goes to court, your attorney must win your case or get the charges thrown out. This will usually require extensive knowledge of the DWI laws and regulations in the state.
Talk to a West New York Criminal Defense Attorney
Anthony Carbone, an expert West New York Criminal Defense Attorney, has been defending the rights of criminal defendants for over 3 decades. He is familiar with the criminal court systems and has extensive experience applying various legal strategies to get your charges reduced or eliminated.
With his 30 years of experience, attorney Carbone can guide you through the entire process of clearing your name and record. He will tell you when it is advisable to accept a plea bargain and when to pursue a trial. Contact him today at 201-829-3829 to schedule a consultation.