How Long Do I Have to Report an Injury to My Employer?
Posted April 17th, 2012 by Anthony Carbone, PC.
Categories: Personal Injury, Workers Compensation.
In New Jersey, workers’ compensation rules say you should report an injury to your employer as soon as possible. Notification does not have to be in writing. New Jersey law also dictates that your employer (or his insurer) gets to select the facility where you receive medical care for your injury, so you may have to check with your employer before seeking medical care, although this information is also supposed to be posted in the workplace.
The exception is of course emergency medical care. In the event of a medical emergency, you have the right to seek the most expedient option for medical care, such as the nearest emergency room or wherever an ambulance takes you after a 9-1-1 call.
In any case, the law sets an absolute maximum on the notification period of 90 days. You have 90 days from the date of your injury to notify your employer of an injury. The exception is with occupational injuries or toxic exposure (such as to asbestos), where notification and claim limitations begin at the date of discovery, not the date of exposure.
There are many complications associated with filing a workers’ compensation claim. An experienced lawyer can help you navigate them to improve your odds of receiving the compensation you deserve.
Please contact the Law Offices of Anthony Carbone, PC today for a free case evaluation.