Is it Illegal to Drive Uninsured in New Jersey?
Insurance can be a pain. We’re always looking for the best value for our buck and sometimes that insurance doesn’t even cover some things if you get into an auto accident. You may even think from time to time, “Is it even worth having car insurance? Can’t I do without?”
The answer is no. You need insurance not only to protect yourself from potential accidents, but it’s also the law. According to New Jersey’s Statute 39:6B-2, if you own a motor vehicle that you are required to have and maintain auto insurance on that vehicle. If you are caught driving that vehicle without insurance, expect to pay a hefty price.
Accord to New Jersey law, if you are uninsured, then the penalties can range from a $300 fine to a loss of your driver’s license for a year and community service. In addition, you will be responsible for a yearly surcharge of $250 for approximately three years. And this is just the first offense.
If you’re caught without insurance for a second time, then expect to face some jail time – the mandatory penalties which include 14 days in jail, a fine between $500 and $5,000, additional fines, and 180 hours of community service. You will also lose your license for at least two years. And if you haven’t learned your lesson yet and get caught one more time, expect not to have your license.
If you were involved in an auto accident with an uninsured driver, we can help. Contact the Law Offices of Anthony Carbone today for a free consultation.