Three questions on workers’ compensation
Posted November 13th, 2013 by Anthony Carbone, PC.
Categories: Workers Compensation.
Question 1- How long do I have to file a claim?
First, make sure you tell your employer as soon as possible that you were injured, even if you didn’t think they were severe at first. The longer you wait, the harder it will be to claim the injury. According to New Jersey law, the statute of limitations for filing a claim is up to two years. If for some reason it is an injury that has progressed over time, such as carpal tunnel syndrome, you also have up to two years to file from the date you are first aware of the condition and how it relates to your work. If your employer denies to file for workers’ compensation, than you should contact us for a free consultation.
Question 2 – How quickly will I receive my benefits?
It usually can take up to two weeks before you receive your benefits. If for some reason your employer or the insurance company delays the claim or neglectfully denies it, they may have to pay you an additional 25 percent of the amount due in addition to any legal fees. Usually, a delay of 30 days is considered an unreasonable amount of time.
Question 3 – Does my employer have to report my injury to the state?
The employer should report any and all work-related injuries to their insurance carriers. It is then the responsibility of the carrier to file the proper forms with New Jersey’s Compensation Rating & Inspection Bureau. The CRIB then reports it to the proper department who will then take a look at the matter to see if any compliance issues were not met at the time of the injury.
Got a question that you would like to see answered? Let us know! You can either email us or comment on our Facebook page and we’ll get back to you as soon as possible.