Megan’s Law: What Happens if You Don’t Register for the List
Posted September 14th, 2016 by Anthony Carbone, PC.
Categories: Criminal Defense.
We’ve talked about what Megan’s Law is, how you can get on the list and how you can get off it. But what happens when you fail to register for the list all together?
Let’s say you committed a sex crime and it was serious enough to get you on the online sex offender registry. After you served your time in prison, you decide to move to New Jersey to be closer to your family. One of the responsibilities you have once you move is to inform law enforcement that you are a sex offender so you can be placed on the state’s registry. However, you fail to do so. What happens to you?
In New Jersey, once you are incarcerated for a sex crime, you are required to register for the registry before you can be released. However, if you moved to New Jersey from another state, you must notify law enforcement in the municipality where you moving to within 10 days of your arrival in the state. If you fail to register, then you’re in trouble.
According to the New Jersey State Police website, if a sex offender fails comply with Megan’s Law, it’s considered a fourth degree crime. If convicted, this means can be sentenced for up to 18 months in prison and face a fine of up to $10,000.
Remember, you are required by Megan’s Law to report every change of address. Even if you are moving to just one town away, if you are on the sex offender registry, you will need to notify local police at least 10 days prior to your move. In fact, some sex offenders must verify their addresses every 90 days.
If you have been convicted of a sex crime and need help with the sex offender registry, we’re here to help. Contact the Law Offices of Anthony Carbone today for a free consultation.