New Jersey Domestic Violence Trends Getting Worse
With all the transparency about domestic violence incidents occurring at an alarming rate, one would think these incidents would begin to decrease rather than increase. Unfortunately, that is not the case.
According to the latest report from the New Jersey State Police, domestic violence offenses are up 3 percent from the previous report. That’s not the only startling statistic. Domestic violence-related homicides have increased by 6 percent from the previous year which had an increase of 16 percent. Of the 52 domestic violence-related homicides, 16 victims were men. The generalization that women are only victims has squarely gone out the window.
It keeps getting worse. The number of sexual assaults in domestic violence incidents has increased from 204 to 223. In Atlantic County, reports about domestic violence incidents are scarier than what we have already mentioned so far. The rate of incidents was more than double the state as a whole. There were 17 domestic violence offenses per 1,000 people in Atlantic Country compared to the entire state of New Jersey with a rate of seven offenses per 1,000 people.
That fact of the matter is domestic violence is getting worse, not better, even with all the awareness surrounding it.
What Constitutes Domestic Violence?
In New Jersey, the laws on domestic violence incidents are relatively straightforward. Each act is defined by an occurrence of a single offense or multiple offenses, which includes homicide, assault, terroristic threats, kidnapping, criminal restraints, false imprisonment, sexual assault, criminal sexual contact, lewdness, criminal mischief, burglary, criminal trespass, harassment, stalking, criminal coercion, robbery, contempt of domestic violence order, cyber harassment, and crimes involving risk of death or serious bodily injury.
Law enforcement is also required to arrest a suspect for domestic violence if a victim either shows or claims that an injury has occurred. An arrest may even be made if probable cause of domestic violence is suspected.
What Can You Do?
With the increase in domestic violence incidents not showing signs of stopping anytime soon, there will be a higher chance that you or someone you know may soon suffer from the effects of domestic violence. If it does happen, what will you be able to do?
Getting away from your abuser should be your first priority. After that, there are different options you may take with the most effective coming in the form of a restraining order. According to New Jersey’s Domestic Violence Act, a victim of domestic abuse can get a restraining order if the abuse was committed by a spouse, a household member, a person who he/she is expecting a child with, or someone who he/she is dating. But only an adult can obtain a restraining order.
Your abuser will most likely be facing criminal charges too. This will result in jail time, fines, and other penalties.
The Law Offices of Anthony Carbone Can Help You
If you or someone you love is a victim of domestic violence in New Jersey, the time to speak up is now and not later. Contact the Law Offices of Anthony Carbone today to set up your free consultation.