Learn More About New Jersey’s Tier Classification System for Sex Offenders

Posted July 18th, 2016 by .

Categories: Criminal Defense.

Sexual Assault Survivor Protection Act SASPA An UpdateWhen someone has been convicted of a crime involving a sexual act, no matter how minor, that person will be placed on the Sexual Offender Registry after serving his/her punishment. But what many don’t understand is there is levels for registered sex offenders, depending on the offense committed. Many states have this type of classification system and New Jersey is no exception.

According to Megan’s Law, a sex offender is designated in one of three tiers:

  • Tier 1, Low Risk – If you are classified in this tier, notification of your crime will probably be limited to just law enforcement agencies. This classification is for those who likelihood of re-offending is considered to be low.
  • Tier 2, Moderate Risk – Those considered a moderate risk must notify not only local law enforcement but must notify communicate organizations, local educational institutions, licensed day care centers, and licensed summer camps. In addition, you may also appear in the New Jersey Sex Offender Internet Registry, which allows the public to learn about you and your crimes.
  • Tier 3, High Risk – Those considered a high risk must notify everyone in Tier 2 in addition to members of the public. All Tier 3 offenders are listed on the sex offender registry.

How is the risk factor figured out? A scoring system is used called the Registrant Risk Assessment Scale (RRAS). The score from this scoring system will determine where you stand in the tiers. For instance, if you get a score of 40, you’ll be deemed a Tier 2 offender.

The RRAS is broken down into 13 separate categories:

  • Degree of force used
  • Degree of contact with the victim
  • The victim’s age
  • How the victim was selected (for instance, it was a stranger or it was a family member)
  • The number of offenses and/or victims
  • The duration of the offensive behavior
  • Length of time since last offense
  • History of any anti-social acts
  • Response to treatment
  • Any history of substance abuse
  • Therapeutic support
  • Residential support
  • Employment and/or educational stability

Is it possible to challenge your tier classification? Definitely, but you need an experienced criminal defense attorney to help you. Contact the Law Offices of Anthony Carbone today for a free consultation.

Share this Post

Questions about your criminal defense case?

Contact Us Today
Live Chat
Celebrating 35 Years in Practice!

Contact Us Today for a Free Consultation

    Back to Top
    Live Chat