Teen Victims of Domestic Violence are Protected Under the Law
Young love tends to be a very dramatic experience for most. It’s your first brush of romance and all your hormones are going haywire. It can be a grand experience, one you’ll probably remember fondly for years to come. But if abuse is part of the relationship, it can also be a horrific experience that can last a lifetime.
According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 9.4 percent of all high school students have reported that they were hit on purpose by a boyfriend or girlfriend. What’s even more disturbing is of the adult domestic violence victims, 22 percent of women and 15 percent of men had experienced some form of abuse by a partner in their teenage years. It’s a pattern that can stay with a person for the rest of their lives. In addition to later life abusive relationships, the young victim could also experience depression, start using drugs or tobacco, or consider suicide.
But if you’re a teenager who is being abused by your significant other, can New Jersey’s domestic violence law protect you? Yes, most definitely. New Jersey’s Prevention of Domestic Violence Act applies to your situation if you’re over 18 or an emancipated minor who is being abused by a spouse, household member, or someone you share a child with or in a dating relationship with the abuser, no matter what age you are. The law also states that can also apply for a restraining order if you are under 18 and have been abused by a boyfriend or girlfriend.
Although it may be a scary situation, especially if this is your first relationship, please know that domestic abuse can happen to anyone at any age. And yes, the law will protect you, even if you are a minor. You just need to speak up.
Are you in violent relationship and need legal help? We’re here for you. For more than 25 years, the Law Offices of Anthony Carbone has been helping to protect the rights of victims of domestic violence. Contact us today for a free consultation.