The Criminal Consequences of Pedestrian-Car Accidents in NJ
Posted March 22nd, 2019 by Anthony Carbone, PC.
Categories: Auto Accidents, Criminal Defense.
Spring has finally come to New Jersey, which means more people will be on the streets of Jersey City, enjoying the warmer weather and sunny skies. It also means we can see an increase in pedestrian accidents throughout our area.
Let’s say you are one of the unfortunate few who is involved in a pedestrian vs. car accident as a driver. You know you will be facing higher insurance premiums and a possible personal injury lawsuit. But did you know that there could be criminal charges coming your way as well?
Pedestrian Fatalities in New Jersey
Pedestrian accidents have seen a rise in the past few years. A recent study by Transportation for America found that more than 76,000 Americans died while crossing or walking along the streets in the past 15 years. One pedestrian death occurs every 1.6 hours in the United States, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
In New Jersey, these numbers do not fare any better. According to the latest data from the New Jersey State Police, there have been 41 fatal pedestrian accidents in 2019 alone, an increase over the last two years. Pedestrian fatalities are so common that according to a recent NJ.com article there were 12 pedestrian deaths in 25 days in September 2018.
The Criminal Penalties of a Pedestrian-Car Accident
If a driver hits you but stops and follows the proper protocol for an accident, there probably won’t be criminal charges leveled against him/her. However, if the crash involved one of the following situations, then the driver will need a criminal defense attorney:
- Hit and Runs: A driver who strikes a pedestrian and flees the scene will not only face a civil lawsuit but will have criminal charges against him/her for fleeing the scene of an accident. You could be facing hefty fines and a potential prison sentence.
- DUI/DWI: Besides being arrested for driving while under the influence, the driver could also face an Assault By Auto charge. We discussed this topic in the past. An Assault By Auto charge can face six months in county jail and a $1,000 fine.
- Vehicular Homicide: If the pedestrian dies in the accident and you were at fault for the crash because of negligent behavior (such as drinking and driving), you could face Death by Auto or Vessel, more commonly referred to as vehicular homicide or manslaughter. The penalties you will be facing are a prison sentence of three or more years with no eligibility for parole.
Contact Pedestrian Accident Attorney Anthony Carbone Today
Being involved in any car accident is never a pleasant experience. And when negligence plays a part in the crash, it can become a criminal matter quickly. You will need an experienced criminal defense attorney to help you with your defense.
For 30 years, the Law Offices of Anthony Carbone has been helping accident victims throughout New Jersey with their injury claims and criminal defense matters. If you were in an accident, don’t wait much longer. Contact the Law Offices of Anthony Carbone today at 201-762-8956 for a free consultation of your claim.