The definition of each crime category in New Jersey
When you are charged with a crime in New Jersey, you may discover that the charges are different than other states. For instance, instead of being charged with a misdemeanor offense, you receive a disorderly person offenses. What does each category mean? And what type of punishment are you facing with each charge?
In New Jersey, a crime will fall under one of three categories: indictable crimes, disorderly person offenses, and petty disorderly person offenses. The most serious of the three is indictable person offenses. These offenses generally carry a punishment of at least one year in prison and are similar to felony charges in other states. These crimes are further classified by degrees, depending on the severity of your crime. So, first instance, if you are charged with burglary, this is considered a second degree indictable crime and can carry a punishment of up to 10 years in prison and a $15,000 fine.
But don’t think that a disorderly person offense isn’t serious — this is considered a misdemeanor in other states and could still send you to prison. For instance, if you are caught shoplifting, this is considered a disorderly person offense and can carry a punishment of up to six months in jail and a fine of $1,0000.
The least serious of criminal offenses in New Jersey is petty disorderly person offenses. Don’t be fooled — even if convicted of this crime you can still face time in jail. For instance, if you are charged with disorderly conduct, this would fall under a petty disorderly person offense and you can expect a punishment of up to 30 days in jail and a fine of up to $500.
If you are charged with any of these crimes, you’re going to need an experienced criminal defense lawyer to help you with your case. Contact the Law Offices of Anthony Carbone today for a free consultation.