What Happens if Your Uber Gets Into an Accident in New Jersey?
Posted March 29th, 2022 by Anthony Carbone.
Categories: Auto Accidents.
Ridesharing is a popular form of transportation in North Jersey. It can be convenient and cost-effective. Uber is still far and away the largest ridesharing company—taking in approximately two-thirds of all ridesharing spending nationwide. Unfortunately, ridesharing vehicles are not always as safe as they should be. Collisions happen.
You need to know what to do to protect your health, well-being, and legal rights if you get hurt in a crash as a ridesharing passenger. New Jersey law provides some important legal protections—but there are some key steps that you need to take. Here, our Jersey City Uber accident attorney explains the key things to know if you are involved in a ridesharing accident as a passenger in New Jersey.
Four Steps to Take After Your Ubers Get Into a Collision in New Jersey
Whether you are taking an Uber to work or out to a social gathering, a serious crash can ruin your day in a matter of seconds. It is essential that you know what to do next to put yourself in the best position to put the pieces back together. Here are four steps to take after an Uber passenger crash:
- Get Immediate Medical Attention for Any Injuries: A serious injury always requires immediate medical care. Get yourself checked out. You can only claim personal injury compensation after an Uber accident if you see a doctor.
- Ensure the Collision is Reported to Law Enforcement: Your Uber driver has a duty to report a serious collision to law enforcement. Be sure that they follow the law and report your crush to the police.
- Notify Uber that an Accident Has Occurred: You should also notify Uber that a collision has occurred. Once again, your Uber driver should do so as well. You can notify the ridesharing company through the Uber app on your phone.
- Consult With a Lawyer Before Uber (or its Insurer): While you should notify Uber, you do not need to give any statement at this time. After a major crash, always consult with a New Jersey car accident attorney before speaking to Uber or any insurance company.
An Overview of Uber Passenger Accident Liability Laws in New Jersey
In 2019, the New Jersey legislature passed a reform package that strengthened liability protection for ridesharing passengers. Under N.J.S.A.39:5H-1, all ridesharing companies operating in the state are required to carry a minimum of $1.5 million in liability coverage for their passengers. As a ridesharing passenger, any injuries sustained in an Uber accident should fall under the company’s $1.5 million commercial insurance policy.
Call Our Jersey City Uber Accident Lawyer for Immediate Help
At The Law Offices of Anthony Carbone, our New Jersey ridesharing accident lawyer fights relentlessly for the rights and interests of injured victims. If you or your loved one was hurt as an Uber passenger, we can help. Contact us now for a no-cost, fully confidential review of your case. From our law office in Jersey City, we handle Uber accident claims throughout all of North Jersey, including in West New York, Newark, Secaucus, Greenville, Elizabeth, Guttenberg, and Bayonne.