A Summertime Drink is Best Without a Drive
Posted July 6th, 2018 by Anthony Carbone, PC.
Categories: Auto Accidents.
During the summer, enjoying time with family and friends is on the rise as the days run longer and stay warmer. Putting back a few brews or drinks (whichever you prefer), could be just what these occasions call for. And while these times can be the highlights of your summer, they can also quickly turn for the worst. Drunk driving tends to escalate in the summer for these very reasons. Whether you’re at a backyard BBQ, or at the bar enjoying a drink outdoors, having a “getting home” game plan is essential.
On average, approximately 22% of fatal car crashes are the result of drunk driving in New Jersey. Sadly, the majority of drivers killed in these accidents tend not to be the ones who are drunk, but rather sober, and driving by the wrong person at the wrong time. No one deserves to have their life taken because someone else didn’t have a safe way to get, no family deserves to have a loved one stripped from them like this, and no one wants to be the one who does it. That is why driving under the influence is so severe. You’re not only putting your life at risk but every other person on the road at the time.
Drunk Driving Prevention
Here are some ways you can prepare for a night of drinking without driving.
- Use public transportation
- Use Uber/Taxi/Limousine service
- Carpool with a designated driver
- Don’t drink, or drink moderately with enough time to sober up
Driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher is a DWI in New Jersey. However, for commercial drivers, it’s 0.04% or more, and for those under 21, including adults 18 through 20, it’s any detectable amount of alcohol.
What a DUI/DWI Could Mean for You
The consequences of just a first-time offense are pretty severe in New Jersey. You could face the following punishment:
- Loss of your driving privileges from 3 months to up to 1 year, depending on your BAC.
- Imprisonment for up to 30 days.
- Between $250 and $500 in fines.
- A $1,000 annual automobile insurance surcharge for three years.
- A minimum of six hours a day for two consecutive days in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center.
- Other fees and surcharges in excess of $525.
- A possible ignition interlock device.
What to do If You’ve Been Hit by a Drunk Driver
The state may sentence the drunk driver in criminal court to pay you restitution, however, it is often lower than what you deserve. To receive the maximum amount for your damages, you may have to file a lawsuit in civil court. You also have the option of pursuing a claim against both the establishment and the employees that served said driver and allowed them to leave the establishment while intoxicated. This includes both commercial and private locations. You may especially want to uphold this if the impaired driver is uninsured or underinsured. That is why you need an experienced drunk driving accident lawyer by your side.
If you or a loved one has been hit by a drunk driver, contact us to see what can be done. Odds are you won’t get everything you deserve without The Law Offices of Anthony Carbone fighting for you. Know your options and fight for your justice.