Changes may be coming to New Jersey’s DUI penalties
There may be a change coming to the current DUI law in New Jersey.
The state Senate had recently passed a bill that changes the DUI penalties for first-time offenders. Currently, the law states that if you are convicted of a DUI for the first time you can lose your license for three months to one year, up to 30 days in prison, community services, and several fines. If Governor Christie signs the bill into law, first-time offenders will face the following penalties:
- If the driver’s blood-alcohol content is between 0.08 and 0.10, his/her license will be suspended for 10 days and will be required to pay for the installation of a car ignition interlock device to measure the personal BAC for three months. During this time, if the offender had tried to drive with a BAC of more than 0.05, the device will then stay on the car for an extra month.
- If the driver’s blood-alcohol levels are between 0.10 and 0.15 percent, the driver will have the car ignition interlock device placed on his/her vehicle for seven months to up to a year.
The big change is the ignition interlock device, which experts feel is more effective in preventing a repeat DUI than a suspended license. According to Mothers Against Drunk Driving, states that have similar legislation in place have seen drunk driving-related fatalities fall by 30 percent. In fact, 24 states require the device for all offenders.
In addition, the bill increases penalties for second-time offenders – instead of a two-year suspension of his/her license, judges can now suspend a second-time offender’s license for up to four years.
If you’ve been arrested for a DUI, you’re going to need some legal advice. For the past 26 years, the Law Offices of Anthony Carbone has been handling DUI cases throughout New Jersey. Contact us today for a free consultation.