Texting and Driving Laws in New Jersey
Posted March 30th, 2014 by Anthony Carbone, PC.
Categories: Auto Accidents.
New Jersey car accident attorney Anthony Carbone can build a strong case on your behalf.
Statistics for 2012 show that more than 1,100 people were injured and nine people died every day due to car accidents caused by some form of distracted driving. New Jersey lawmakers have attempted to curb these alarming figures by passing laws that ban the following activities while driving:
- Talking or listening to a call on a handheld phone
- Text messaging
- Using email, playing games, or operating other apps on a mobile device
Operating a cell phone while driving is classified as a primary offense, meaning police officers can pull you over for activities like the above without witnessing any other violation of the rules of the road. Fines for a first-time offense can range from $100 to $200.
If you were injured in a car accident caused by a distracted driver, our New Jersey attorney can initiate a claim for the compensation you deserve. Please contact the Law Offices of Anthony Carbone, P.C., or call 201-963-6000 today to schedule a complimentary consultation. Mr. Carbone serves clients from Newark, Jersey City, and other areas of New Jersey.