What will happen if you have too much Christmas cheer
Tis the season for holiday parties. And sometimes, you just can’t help yourself around your friend Jenny’s special punch. But you live only a few miles away, you can drive home, right?
Tell that to the police officer behind you.
New Jersey has some pretty tough DUI laws. To receive DUI, you must be over 21 and have a blood alcohol level of .08. If you are equal to or greater than .08, you can expect to be arrested, have your license suspended, and ordered to pay a fine. If you are under 21 and have level of .01, according to New Jersey’s “zero tolerance” law, you can expect an even harsher punishment.
So what should you do if you are pulled over for suspicion of driving under the influence? Well, you will have to take a test. According to New Jersey’s “implied consent” law, you a required to take a breath test if the arresting officer has probable cause to believe you’ve been drinking. If you refuse, your license will be suspended for seven months and you will receive a fine from $300 to $500. You have the right to take an additional test, and it can be either breath, blood, or urine. And if this is your first conviction of a DUI or a DWI, it won’t look good if you refused to take the test.