Be careful bringing fireworks into New Jersey
Independence Day is right around the corner and one of our favorite traditions is to watch fireworks as they light up the sky. We ooh and aah at the bright colors. It makes us want to go out and purchase our own fireworks. But by doing so, you will be committing a crime.
Although it’s easy enough to cross the border into Pennsylvania to buy a bunch of sparklers for the family, once you cross back into New Jersey, what you have in your car is considered illegal. According to New Jersey’s Fireworks Law, the only form of fireworks legal in the state are paper or plastic caps for use in toy guns. Even possessing something simple like a sparkler can be considered a crime. According to the law, if you are found in possession of or using fireworks, it is considered a fourth degree crime and you can fined up to $500 and possibly face a prison sentence of 30 days. The punishment is worse if you plan to sell your fireworks — if you are caught and are found guilty possession with an intent to sell (and yes, that even means sparklers), you can face a fine of up to $7500 and received a prison sentence of up to 18 months.
So if fireworks are illegal in New Jersey, how come you can go see a display? According to the law, if your organization is intending to hold a show, you must apply for a permit for the use of fireworks. Only then can you hold your fireworks show.
If you are caught with fireworks in New Jersey and need a criminal defense attorney, we can help. For more than 26 years, we’ve been helping those in need of a good lawyer throughout New Jersey. Contact the Law Offices of Anthony Carbone today for a free consultation.